Crossfit just kicked my arse

So I just got back from a introductory trial session at my local Crossfit gym. And as my title suggests, I’m knackered. My legs are sore already and I had a mild asthma attack due to my very poor cardio fitness right now. But I can certainly see this program working to improve fitness, that’s for sure.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Crossfit, it’s basically a fitness program based on high intensity and constantly changing workouts using whole body, functional movements. No two sessions are the same and you work as hard as you can go with the program set for the class each session. If you’d like more information or a more specific (and accurate) description then visit http://www.crossfit.com or Google to find a local Crossfit gym.

Now if you’re like me you may have searched the Net looking for information on treatment of PCOS through various lifestyle changes. There’s a reasonable amount on diet but hardly any on exercise. (If anyone reading this happens to know of any resources on PCOS and exercise, please feel free to message me.) I’ll be posting a blog soon about PCOS and exercise but for now I’m sticking with Crossfit.

IMO, I think Crossfit could be greatly beneficial to women with PCOS. You would burn heaps of calories and build muscle which increases your resting metabolism. The downside is a) it’s expensive when compared to a gym and 2) it’s HARD to start off. I’m sure if I kept going back I’d get better and start to really enjoy it. So at this stage I think I’ll sign up for a beginner session (3 classes) and see how that flys.

Let’s just see if I can walk tomorrow and then decide on my course 🙂

Leave a comment